Ladies seal top two finish

Thursday 17 May 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 17 May 2018 at 22:50)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies completed an outstanding first season in the South West Women's Football League Eastern Division by securing runners-up spot with a deserved, yet hard-fought 3-0 victory away against Cheltenham Town Development.

As with their triumph over Oldland Abbotonians on Sunday which kept their title hopes alive, Bassett's goals all came in the second half.

The opening period was a tough contest with both teams playing some flowing football and creating opportunities. However, it was to end goalless.

Knowing they needed to get a result, Bassett kicked on after the restart and were rewarded early when awarded a penalty, which Laura Gammon coolly put away.

Ten minutes later they doubled their advantage, creating some much needed breathing room thanks to Hayley Huckin's fine chipped effort from the left side.

Huckin then added some extra gloss in the closing stages with a great strike that found the bottom corner via the post.

The results crowns a season in which Becky Gammon's side have lost just two league games, with the home defeat against Portishead Town likely to prove the meagre difference between finishing as champions and in second place.

In all areas of the pitch Bassett have shown quality in their inaugural campaign playing outside of County League football. A stern defence, which has conceded a league low 23 goals, and an outstanding attack containing three players who have scored at least ten goals this season have combined to deliver another hugely successful year for the side, who it is hoped will continue to develop next season.

For now though they can deservedly bask in the glory of what they have achieved just a year after gaining promotion.

Other Match Reports

Thu 17th May 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 13th May 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Wed 9th May 2018 - Frome Town Ladies (A)

Thu 3rd May 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Thu 19th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 15th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (N)

Sun 8th Apr 2018 - Portishead Town (H)

Sun 25th Mar 2018 - Portishead Town (A)

Sun 11th Mar 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 25th Feb 2018 - St Nicholas Reserves (H)

Sun 18th Feb 2018 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 4th Feb 2018 - Team Mendip (H)

Sun 7th Jan 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 3rd Dec 2017 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 12th Nov 2017 - Frome Town Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Nov 2017 - FC Chippenham (A)

Sun 29th Oct 2017 - Oldland Abbotonians (H)

Sun 22nd Oct 2017 - Team Mendip (A)

Sun 8th Oct 2017 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 1st Oct 2017 - The Market Lavington and Easterton United (A)

Sun 24th Sep 2017 - Cheltenham Civil Service (A)

Sun 17th Sep 2017 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 10th Sep 2017 - St Nicholas Reserves (A)

Sun 3rd Sep 2017 - AFC Bournemouth (H)