Honours even as title challengers meet

Sunday 25 March 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 25 March 2018 at 16:08)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies had to dig deep to preserve their unbeaten record in the South West Women's League Eastern Division as they drew 1-1 away against fellow title hopefuls Portishead Town.

The day started with both teams yet to lose in league action. And it ended that way too, though Bassett will be the team happier with the outcome given Portishead created the most chances.

Given what was at stake, it was arguably little surprise that the opening half was a rather scrappy affair.

While the Somerset hosts shaded things, it was Bassett who would take the lead seven minutes before half time when Lisa Coe pounced to finish after Michelle Rich connected with Laura Jefferies' corner and struck the post.

Portishead then responded seven minutes after the restart, as Bassett failed to close down and a fine volley was struck into the bottom corner.

Thereafter the home side crafted the most openings, but solid defensive play from Bassett ensured the spoils would be shared come full time.

The results means Bassett maintain their four point advantage over Portishead, who jumped above Swindon Town Ladies Development into second thanks to the Reds being in County Cup action. The top three teams all have eight games to go, with Swindon Town a further point adrift.

And it's set to be a thrilling conclusion to the season. Bassett and Portishead face each other again in a fortnight, while Becky Gammon's team also have both league meetings with Swindon to come. Portishead and Swindon are set to meet on the final weekend of the campaign too.

Other Match Reports

Thu 17th May 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 13th May 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Wed 9th May 2018 - Frome Town Ladies (A)

Thu 3rd May 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Thu 19th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 15th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (N)

Sun 8th Apr 2018 - Portishead Town (H)

Sun 25th Mar 2018 - Portishead Town (A)

Sun 11th Mar 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 25th Feb 2018 - St Nicholas Reserves (H)

Sun 18th Feb 2018 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 4th Feb 2018 - Team Mendip (H)

Sun 7th Jan 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 3rd Dec 2017 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 12th Nov 2017 - Frome Town Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Nov 2017 - FC Chippenham (A)

Sun 29th Oct 2017 - Oldland Abbotonians (H)

Sun 22nd Oct 2017 - Team Mendip (A)

Sun 8th Oct 2017 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 1st Oct 2017 - The Market Lavington and Easterton United (A)

Sun 24th Sep 2017 - Cheltenham Civil Service (A)

Sun 17th Sep 2017 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 10th Sep 2017 - St Nicholas Reserves (A)

Sun 3rd Sep 2017 - AFC Bournemouth (H)