Ladies edge seven goal thriller to kick off league campaign

Sunday 10 September 2017 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 10 September 2017 at 16:49)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies began life in the South West Women's Football League in winning fashion as they defeated St Nicholas Ladies Reserves 4-3 in a thrilling encounter in Bristol.

Both sides came up from the Gloucestershire County Women's League, with St Nicholas pipping Bassett to the title.

Their first meeting at a high level saw Bassett on top, as they controlled the first half with their slick passing game.

However, they found themselves a goal down at the break as the hosts scored with their only shot on target of the opening period.

Bassett came out firing in the second half though, and equalised early on as Laura Gammon found the back of the net.

The teams then traded goals as St Nicholas restored their lead only for Hayley Huckin to restore parity.

Robyn Levett's debut strike put Bassett ahead for the first time in the match, and Michelle Rich soon doubled the advantage as she found the back of the net direct from a corner.

A late goal from the hosts made for a nervous final five minutes, but Bassett held strong to claim the points and a maiden victory in their new surroundings at the first time of asking.

Other Match Reports

Sun 12th Nov 2017 - Frome Town Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Nov 2017 - FC Chippenham (A)

Sun 29th Oct 2017 - Oldland Abbotonians (H)

Sun 22nd Oct 2017 - Team Mendip (A)

Sun 8th Oct 2017 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 1st Oct 2017 - The Market Lavington and Easterton United (A)

Sun 24th Sep 2017 - Cheltenham Civil Service (A)

Sun 17th Sep 2017 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 10th Sep 2017 - St Nicholas Reserves (A)

Sun 3rd Sep 2017 - AFC Bournemouth (H)