Ladies take it to the wire

Sunday 13 May 2018 - by Stuart (Updated on 13 May 2018 at 17:10)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies' hard-fought 2-0 victory away against mid-table Oldland Abbotonians means the destination if the South West Women's Football League Eastern Division title will be decided on the final game of the season.

After their midweek draw away against Frome Town, Becky Gammon's team needed to record a win to keep their hopes of laying their hands on the trophy alive.

And a workmanlike display against their Bristol-based opponents saw them do just that.

A slow start from the visitors contributed to a goalless opening period.

However, ten minutes after the restart Laura Gammon struck into the bottom corner after good passing play in the box to give Bassett the lead.

Leading by a single goal, Bassett remained somewhat tense - understandable given the circumstance.

But Michelle Rich would calm those nerves on eighty minutes, completing a fine run by rounding the 'keeper and slotting home.

To finish top, Bassett do still need help from elsewhere on the final day of the campaign.

Should they win or draw against Cheltenham Town Development and Portishead lose against Almondsbury (or Bassett win and Portishead draw), then the title will be Bassett's.

Barring a substantial, unlikely swing in goal difference, then victories for both Bassett and Portishead will see the Somerset-side crowned champions.

Swindon Town Development, who face Swindon Spitfires on the final day, are not out of the running either. A healthy win for them, coupled with defeats for Bassett and Portishead would mean they jump from third to the summit.

With the Robins Development squad three points behind, a draw will be enough for both Bassett and Portishead to guarantee at least runners-up though.

Whatever happens, it's poised to be a thrilling finale, with one of three excellent, worthy teams lifting the trophy.

Other Match Reports

Thu 17th May 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 13th May 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Wed 9th May 2018 - Frome Town Ladies (A)

Thu 3rd May 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Thu 19th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 15th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (N)

Sun 8th Apr 2018 - Portishead Town (H)

Sun 25th Mar 2018 - Portishead Town (A)

Sun 11th Mar 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 25th Feb 2018 - St Nicholas Reserves (H)

Sun 18th Feb 2018 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 4th Feb 2018 - Team Mendip (H)

Sun 7th Jan 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 3rd Dec 2017 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 12th Nov 2017 - Frome Town Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Nov 2017 - FC Chippenham (A)

Sun 29th Oct 2017 - Oldland Abbotonians (H)

Sun 22nd Oct 2017 - Team Mendip (A)

Sun 8th Oct 2017 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 1st Oct 2017 - The Market Lavington and Easterton United (A)

Sun 24th Sep 2017 - Cheltenham Civil Service (A)

Sun 17th Sep 2017 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 10th Sep 2017 - St Nicholas Reserves (A)

Sun 3rd Sep 2017 - AFC Bournemouth (H)