Comeback helps claim opening day point

Tuesday 01 August 2017 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 02 August 2017 at 21:49)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town started their 2017-18 Hellenic League Premier Division campaign with a hard-fought 2-2 draw away against Brackley Town Saints.

St. James Park, 2nd August 2017

An entertaining opening day encounter saw Royal Wootton Bassett Town overturn a two goal deficit to claim a point away against Brackley Town Saints.

While there will be some disappointment at not having claimed victory, on the whole, Rich Hunter's team - not helped by having to make one of their longest journeys of the season on a Wednesday evening - can be pleased with the result.

Both teams were committed to playing a style of football that was easy on the eye, and were evenly matched throughout.

Yet, a defensive lapse from the visitors and a stunning strike had allowed the Saints to stake out a two goal advantage with just half an hour elapsed.

Josh Bowden was the first to pounce, providing a finish from a telling through ball after Bassett had won back possession before giving it straight back to their hosts.

Nine minutes later the hosts doubled their lead in outstanding fashion as Josh Murphy left Ant Brown with no chance courtesy of a 25-yard rocket.

Bassett were able to get one back with a screamer of their own though.

Eleven minutes before the break, a corner was cleared only as far as Callum Wright, and the midfielder rattled a thirty yard strike into the back of the net.

Man of the match Sam Packer then went close to grabbing an equaliser, being thwarted by a fine save.

It didn't take long for Nathan Gambling to go one better. On the stroke of half time, he latched onto Wright's incisive pass and kept his composure, producing a cool finish.

The second half was a tight affair with neither side able to trouble the scoresheet again, ensuring the spoils were shared.

Other Match Reports

Sat 16th Dec 2017 - Ascot United (A)

Wed 13th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 9th Dec 2017 - Woodley United (H)

Wed 6th Dec 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 2nd Dec 2017 - Abingdon United (A)

Wed 29th Nov 2017 - Binfield (H)

Wed 22nd Nov 2017 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (A)