Collier breaks Robins' resistance

Saturday 07 October 2017 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 07 October 2017 at 18:45)

Sam Collier's late goal delivered Royal Wootton Bassett Town a 1-0 victory over a spirited Clanfield side in the opening round of the Bluefin Sports Challenge Cup.

Radcot Road, 7th October 2017

It certainly wasn't a pretty victory, but Royal Wootton Bassett Town just about did enough to see off the test of Clanfield and avoid an upset against the Division One West outfit in the Bluefin Sports Challenge Cup first round as Sam Collier's last minute strike secured a hard-fought 1-0 win.

With extra time looming, the Bassett talisman netted for the fifth time in six games, timing his run perfectly to meet Gio Wrona's right wing cross and tap in at the far post.

Rich Hunter used the game to mix his side around. Sam Packer was rested, while Jonny Aitkenhead, who hadn't played since the Bank Holiday Monday visit to Highworth, started at full back. Ben Lodge and Aaron Maximen, both of whose most recent appearances had come from the bench, were given starts too as Harvey Scholes and Collier dropped to the bench.

On a bumpy pitch, Bassett's performance wasn't a particularly good one, and their afternoon was made the more difficult by their hosts' stubborn performance.

While Clanfield rarely threatened the goal of Dan Lawrence, they limited the opportunities Bassett had throughout the course of the game, though ultimately their resistance broke down.

The visitors should have had a penalty as injury time loomed when Harvey Scholes was scythed down in the box, but the referee failed to point to the spot.

However, Collier was soon on hand to seal the breakthrough and Bassett's ninth win in a row.

Other Match Reports

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (A)