Pointless run comes to an end

Saturday 17 February 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 18 February 2018 at 21:26)

A late equaliser denied Royal Wootton Bassett Town victory away against Longlevens, but the 1-1 draw ensured their two month run in search of a Hellenic League Premier Division point finally came to an end.

Saw Mills End, 18th February 2017

Royal Wootton Bassett Town's hapless run of Hellenic League Premier Division form finally came to end as a 1-1 draw with Longlevens saw Sam Collier's side claim their first point since a mid-December victory over Ascot United.

And it could well have been all three points as Adam Corcoran steered in from a corner midway through the second half. However, Bassett eventually had to settle for a share of the spoils as Longlevens substitute Myron Turner popped up with an equaliser in the game's penultimate minute.

While there will be some level of disappointment not to have seen out the game, Bassett's performance was one they can be pleased with, especially in light of the midweek debacle that saw them humbled 4-0 at the hands of local rivals Fairford Town.

It seemed that Collier got the response he demanded from his players, who were resolute throughout the match and, importantly, kept their shape to limit the number of opportunities their hosts were able to create.

Indeed, chances were at a premium for both teams, particularly in a first half which saw only shot on target registered. That fell to Bassett's Gio Wrona, whose shot forced a save out of home custodian Ash Wintle.

Prior to that, Longlevens did have a pair of decent openings, but a lack of composure in front of goal saw both Adam Phillips and Craig Martin blaze over the bar.

Bassett were equally guilty of rushing their efforts too, with an unmarked Ryan Withers heading wide at the far post when the youngster should really have done better.

The second half was rather slow to get going, the best chance of its early stages coming when Wintle's long goal kick set free Dave Merrick, whose shot proved to be wayward. Shortly after an overhead kick from Brad Martin whistled past the post.

Finally though Bassett were able to find a breakthrough. Play was recycled after the hosts were only able to half clear from a corner, and Corcoran was able to blast a shot beyond Wintle from close range.

And ten minutes later the game could have been over, but Carl Evans shot narrowly off target after shaking off the attentions of Luke Kavanagh.

Having survived that scare, the hosts proceeded to place the Bassett goal under siege in search of a late leveller.

Much to Bassett's chagrin, it arrived with less than a minute to go.

Having seen a shot blocked moments earlier, Turner ended up reacting quickest when Dan Lawrence was only able to parry a Shaun O'Connor strike, with the substitute chesting down before firing into the roof of the net.

Other Match Reports

Thu 26th Apr 2018 - Woodley United (A)

Sat 7th Apr 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 31st Mar 2018 - Bracknell Town (A)

Sat 24th Mar 2018 - Ascot United (H)

Tue 20th Mar 2018 - Oxford City Nomads (A)

Sat 10th Mar 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Sat 24th Feb 2018 - Burnham (A)

Tue 20th Feb 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 17th Feb 2018 - Longlevens (A)

Wed 14th Feb 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Wed 7th Feb 2018 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 3rd Feb 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 20th Jan 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Wed 17th Jan 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 13th Jan 2018 - Thatcham Town (A)

Sat 30th Dec 2017 - Binfield (A)

Tue 26th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 23rd Dec 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (H)

Sat 16th Dec 2017 - Ascot United (A)

Wed 13th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 9th Dec 2017 - Woodley United (H)

Wed 6th Dec 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 2nd Dec 2017 - Abingdon United (A)

Wed 29th Nov 2017 - Binfield (H)

Wed 22nd Nov 2017 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)