Home campaign ends in defeat

Saturday 07 April 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 08 April 2018 at 12:41)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town fell to a 3-0 defeat against Wantage Town in their final home Hellenic League Premier Division game of the campaign.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 7th April 2018

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were unable to end their home campaign on a high as familiar faces returned to haunt them in a 3-0 loss against Wantage Town.

Mirroring the score when the teams met in Oxfordshire earlier in the season, Bassett were again humbled by the Alfredians, who have historically had their number.

After a couple of half chances fell Wantage's way, the first real opportunity of the game fell to Dale Richards when he dispossessed Brad Cox and flew beyond Chris Jackson. However, 'keeper Curtis Meare came off his line to close the angle enough, forcing Richards to hit wide.

Wantage eventually took the lead seven minutes before the break. Ex-Bassett man Harvey Scholes worked his way down the right wing before squaring inside to Jack Dunmall. The forward initially slipped, but had enough time to recover his footing and proceeded to curl a low strike into the bottom left corner.

Scholes then doubled the visitors' advantage just after the hour. Stepping up to take a free kick right on the edge of the area, he curled a delightful effort into the top corner beyond Ian Gill.

Bassett did manage a response but saw Brad Cox block Dave Coleman's tight angled effort on the line, while Ben Lodge was lively once introduced as a substitute.

However, Wantage soon had their third. And it came from Steve Robertson - Bassett's leading striker for the past two seasons. The forward saw an initial shot blocked by Steve Yeardley, but was able to pounce on the rebound and toe poke the ball into the net at the near post.

Other Match Reports

Sat 7th Apr 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 31st Mar 2018 - Bracknell Town (A)

Sat 24th Mar 2018 - Ascot United (H)

Tue 20th Mar 2018 - Oxford City Nomads (A)

Sat 10th Mar 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Sat 24th Feb 2018 - Burnham (A)

Tue 20th Feb 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 17th Feb 2018 - Longlevens (A)

Wed 14th Feb 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Wed 7th Feb 2018 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 3rd Feb 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 20th Jan 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Wed 17th Jan 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 13th Jan 2018 - Thatcham Town (A)

Sat 30th Dec 2017 - Binfield (A)

Tue 26th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 23rd Dec 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (H)

Sat 16th Dec 2017 - Ascot United (A)

Wed 13th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 9th Dec 2017 - Woodley United (H)

Wed 6th Dec 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 2nd Dec 2017 - Abingdon United (A)

Wed 29th Nov 2017 - Binfield (H)

Wed 22nd Nov 2017 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)