Frustrating day as Bassett held by ten man Fairford

Saturday 28 October 2017 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 29 October 2017 at 20:35)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town have now gone three Hellenic League Premier Division games without recording a victory following a 1-1 derby draw against basement dwellers Fairford Town

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 28th October 2017

Royal Wootton Bassett Town suffered a frustrating day as they dominated their derby encounter with Fairford Town, but could only come away from the game with a point as they were held 1-1.

Rich Hunter's side created countless chances, but were ultimately punished for their profligacy against opponents who played the majority of the game with ten men after Josh Gregory was sent off in the first half for a two-footed lunge.

Having failed to find the back of the net in the opening period, Bassett eventually went ahead on the hour thanks to Sam Packer's sublime finish. Gio Wrona played a corner low to the edge of the area where Harvey Scholes was lurking. The midfielder then steered the ball towards goal, and, from six yards out and with his back to goal, Packer produced an audacious back heel flick which crept past Charles Steward.

The goal should really have spurred Bassett on to victory. Yet they were guilty of a defensive lapse three minutes later that allowed Fairford to pull level.

As Liam Gale strode forward, he drew the attentions of three Bassett defenders before slipping a reverse pass through to the overlapping Dan Reynolds, who arrowed a first time shot beyond Dan Lawrence and into the bottom corner.

Other Match Reports

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (A)