Clinical finishing condemns Bassett

Saturday 03 February 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 04 February 2018 at 10:18)

A 3-1 home loss against Brimscombe and Thrupp made it seven losses in a row for Royal Wootton Bassett Town.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 3rd February 2017

Royal Wootton Bassett Town racked up a seventh defeat in a row as a clinical display of finishing from visitors Brimscombe and Thrupp condemned Sam Collier's team to a 3-1 defeat.

While the loss meant that their miserable run of form continued, there were positives for Bassett's interim manager to take from the game as his side created enough chances to be in with a realistic shot of taking a share of the spoils.

But a lack of composure in front of goal coupled with the visitors' fine finishing put paid to those hopes.

The Gloucestershire outfit were two goals to the good at the break thanks to Harrison Reeves' precise drive and a fine curling effort from Ollie Pitt. Both teams then struck the woodwork in the opening minutes of the second period, before Sam Blackie fired in on the turn to further extend Brimscombe's advantage. Lewis Waldon managed an instant reply, but Bassett were unable to claw their way back into the game afterwards.

And that would have left Collier frustrated given how vulnerable Brimscombe's shaky defence appeared against the pace of the hosts' forward trio of Lewis Waldon, Shane Hibbert and Ryan Withers.

Waldon, in particular, caused them a great deal of difficulty and should perhaps have put Bassett in front on ten minutes when he chased down Gio Wrona's towering ball over the back of the defence in the left corner. After gaining possession, Waldon cut inside, putting Chris Greenhough on his backside in the process, but seemed to rush his shot as he blasted over.

How Bassett needed that to have been a goal. Particularly as seven minutes later, Brimscombe provided the first instalment of their finishing masterclass. The opening goal of the game stemmed largely from Bassett's failure to clear their lines, and a quick ball in over the top and slip on the slick surface from Wrona was enough to give Reeves the time he needed to steady himself and arrow an emphatic strike beyond Dan Lawrence.

The goal didn't really affect the balance of the contest though as the sides appeared relatively evenly matched. Brimscombe were vibrant and tough to contain going forward, yet remained susceptible at the back.

And another ball in behind them presented Waldon with another chance on the half hour mark. This time collecting possession in the right corner, the forward danced past Chris Pates before seeking to squeeze a shot beyond Ashley Gale from a tight angle, which the visiting 'keeper was able to repel.

A sense of déjà vu soon befell Bassett as Brimscombe replied six minutes later with their second. This time they punished Bassett on the break, with a through ball played for Pitt to race onto in the left corner before the forward steered a delightful curler into the top right corner from the left edge of the area.

Their advantage could even have been three going into the break but an unmarked Reeves snatched at a header from Nathan Marks' cross to the far post moments after Hibbert had fired over at the other end following a poor defensive clearance.

Bassett were thankful that the diminutive midfielder had failed to find the target, with the two-goal deficit something they still had a chance of overturning.

But that meant they would need to take the game to Brimscombe, making themselves more exposed defensively.

That almost cost them just two minutes after the restart, a give-and-go between Blackie and Pitt opening them up before the former found the outside of the post with his shot.

Following a fine diving save from Lawrence to keep out a Pitt free kick, Bassett launched a counter of their own, which led to them hitting the woodwork as Waldon, played in by Callum Wright, went for power over placement.

Shortly after, Bassett's profligacy was punished for a third time. Sloppy defending cost them on this occasion. A Pitt right-wing free kick evaded all in the box, but Pates was able to salvage possession in the left corner. Under little pressure, he recycled the ball, which fell for Blackie, who had all the time in the world to turn and easily pick out the bottom left corner.

A glimmer of hope arrived within two minutes as Wrona's pass split the Brimscombe defence and Waldon coolly slotted past Gale.

Yet for all the additional men they threw forward and pressure they sought to apply, that was to be their lot. Indeed, they were unable to register another shot on target the rest of the way, the best they managed coming through Hibbert, who directed a low 20-yard strike just wide, and Withers, who planted a header from a Tony Joyce cross inches over the bar.

Fortunately, further punishment was not forthcoming either, though Reeves did twice narrowly pass up opportunities to extend his haul for the afternoon in the closing stages.

Man of the Match: Lewis Waldon - took his goal well and proved difficult for Brimscombe to contain throughout the game.

Other Match Reports

Sat 24th Feb 2018 - Burnham (A)

Tue 20th Feb 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 17th Feb 2018 - Longlevens (A)

Wed 14th Feb 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Wed 7th Feb 2018 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 3rd Feb 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 20th Jan 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Wed 17th Jan 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 13th Jan 2018 - Thatcham Town (A)

Sat 30th Dec 2017 - Binfield (A)

Tue 26th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 23rd Dec 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (H)

Sat 16th Dec 2017 - Ascot United (A)

Wed 13th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 9th Dec 2017 - Woodley United (H)

Wed 6th Dec 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 2nd Dec 2017 - Abingdon United (A)

Wed 29th Nov 2017 - Binfield (H)

Wed 22nd Nov 2017 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (A)