Bassett book place in Floodlit Cup third round

Wednesday 01 November 2017 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 01 November 2017 at 21:49)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town progressed through to the last sixteen of the Perpetua Press Floodlit Cup with a 3-2 victory against Kidlington Reserves.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 1st November 2017

They may not have been at their best, but Royal Wootton Bassett Town proved too good for Division One West side Kidlington Reserves as they secured safe passage through to the Perpetua Press Floodlit Cup third round with a 3-2 victory.

Bassett's margin of victory should really have been higher, while they will have been disappointed to concede a pair of goals to their opponents having found themselves in such a commanding position at half time.

Nevertheless, Rich Hunter will take the win in a competition in which it is always worth targeting a good run.

Harvey Scholes had put the home side ahead early on, curling a shot into the top corner from the edge of the area.

Bassett should really have doubled their lead midway through the first half when awarded a penalty, but Nick Lacey was equal to Sam Packer's spot kick.

Packer did eventually get the better of the Kidlington 'keeper, scoring on the stroke of half time with a well taken goal.

After the break, Bassett were arguably guilty of taking their foot off the gas and were punished when Harry Whitehead halved the deficit on 65 minutes.

Ben Lodge would kill the game off with a third for the hosts with seven minutes remaining as he found the net with a cute outside of the boot finish.

That meant Whitehead's injury time second for the visitors was a mere consolation.

Other Match Reports

Sat 24th Feb 2018 - Burnham (A)

Tue 20th Feb 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 17th Feb 2018 - Longlevens (A)

Wed 14th Feb 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Wed 7th Feb 2018 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 3rd Feb 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 20th Jan 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Wed 17th Jan 2018 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 13th Jan 2018 - Thatcham Town (A)

Sat 30th Dec 2017 - Binfield (A)

Tue 26th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 23rd Dec 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (H)

Sat 16th Dec 2017 - Ascot United (A)

Wed 13th Dec 2017 - Highworth Town (H)

Sat 9th Dec 2017 - Woodley United (H)

Wed 6th Dec 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 2nd Dec 2017 - Abingdon United (A)

Wed 29th Nov 2017 - Binfield (H)

Wed 22nd Nov 2017 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sat 18th Nov 2017 - Wantage Town (A)

Tue 14th Nov 2017 - Horndean (A)

Wed 8th Nov 2017 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 4th Nov 2017 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 1st Nov 2017 - Kidlington (H)

Sat 28th Oct 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Wed 25th Oct 2017 - Oxford City Nomads (H)

Sat 21st Oct 2017 - Ampthill Town (H)

Wed 18th Oct 2017 - Cricklade Town (H)

Sat 14th Oct 2017 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 7th Oct 2017 - Clanfield (A)

Tue 3rd Oct 2017 - Windsor FC (A)

Sat 30th Sep 2017 - Burnham (H)

Sat 23rd Sep 2017 - Codicote (H)

Tue 19th Sep 2017 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 16th Sep 2017 - Highmoor Ibis (A)

Wed 13th Sep 2017 - Lydney Town (H)

Fri 8th Sep 2017 - Fairford Town (H)

Tue 5th Sep 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Sat 2nd Sep 2017 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Mon 28th Aug 2017 - Highworth Town (A)

Sat 26th Aug 2017 - Thatcham Town (H)

Sat 19th Aug 2017 - Windsor FC (H)

Tue 15th Aug 2017 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 12th Aug 2017 - Bracknell Town (H)

Sat 5th Aug 2017 - Crawley Green (H)

Tue 1st Aug 2017 - Brackley Town Saints (A)