Home winning streak ends as Bassett are pegged back

Tuesday 03 March 2020 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 03 March 2020 at 21:55)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were held to a 2-2 draw at home against Ardley United.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 3rd March 2019

Royal Wootton Bassett Town remain unbeaten at home since November. However, their five game winning streak at the Gerard Buxton Sports Ground was brought to an end by visitors Ardley United, who clawed back a two goal deficit to claim a point.

Sam Collier's team had looked to be in a commanding position courtesy of well-taken goals from Anaclet Odhiambo and Alfie Presley. But Bassett conceded cheaply just before the interval to restore hope for Ardley. And the visitors were then able to muster a fine equaliser to claim a share of the spoils.

Bassett had demonstrated their clinical edge in the opening period, grabbing their two goals with their opening pair of clear cut chances.

The veteran Odhiambo delivered the first, ending a fine move involving Presley and Brad Pagliaroli shortly after the quarter hour mark.

It was quickly two. Robbing possession from the Ardley defence, Presley produced an emphatic finish to register his fifth goal of the season.

But just before half time a soft goal halved Bassett's advantage. An unfortunate slip from George Ford gave Owen James the room he needed and his shot squirmed beneath 'keeper Eddie Cavanagh.

Ardley's youthful side appeared the most lively following the restart and arguably got their just rewards when James expertly controlled a cross-field ball, wrong-footing Presley with his first touch, and rifling home to complete his brace.

The result leaves Bassett's position - 16th in the table - unchanged as they missed out on an opportunity to climb three places.

A top half finish is still within sight though, and is something Bassett will clearly be aiming for given just six points separate them from seventh place Burnham.

With ten games to go, there is plenty still to play for in an exceptionally tight division.

Other Match Reports

Sat 7th Mar 2020 - Easington Sports (A)

Tue 3rd Mar 2020 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 18th Feb 2020 - Windsor (A)

Sat 8th Feb 2020 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 1st Feb 2020 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 25th Jan 2020 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 11th Jan 2020 - Longlevens (H)

Sat 4th Jan 2020 - Westfields (A)

Sat 28th Dec 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 14th Dec 2019 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 7th Dec 2019 - Reading City (A)

Sat 30th Nov 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Nov 2019 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 19th Nov 2019 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 9th Nov 2019 - Burnham (H)

Sat 2nd Nov 2019 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 29th Oct 2019 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 26th Oct 2019 - Binfield (H)

Tue 22nd Oct 2019 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)