Out of luck

Saturday 26 October 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 27 October 2019 at 20:31)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were unfortunate to come away empty-handed as they lost 1-0 at home against Binfield.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 26th October 2019

Football can be a harsh game at time - and Royal Wootton Bassett Town were reminded of that fact when beaten 1-0 at home by Binfield.

Sam Collier's side performed very well, frustrating their high-flying visitors who enjoyed limited opportunities in front of goal and playing well in difficult conditions.

Altogether, Bassett deserved to take something from the game. In the end, however, they wound up empty-handed.

One defensive lapse in concentration proved costly. On the hour mark Carl Evans failed to deal with a long ball played in behind, and Binfield forward Sean Moore took advantage, racing onto the loose ball before beating Declan Lehmann.

Earlier Bassett had enjoyed the best chance of the first half. Excellent link up play between Jonny Davoile and Callum Parsons set up Gio Wrona, but the ball slid away from the midfielder just a little too much and he was unable to get his shot off when well placed.

After going behind, Bassett pushed for an equaliser which didn't arrive. And to compound matters they were left feeling frustrated by a late claim for a penalty that was turned down after it appeared as though there had been a handball on the line.

The performance overall was promising enough to suggest that Bassett are turning the corner after a difficult start. It's hoped though that positive results will soon follow.

Other Match Reports

Tue 19th Nov 2019 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 9th Nov 2019 - Burnham (H)

Sat 2nd Nov 2019 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 29th Oct 2019 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 26th Oct 2019 - Binfield (H)

Tue 22nd Oct 2019 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)