Bassett pay late penalty in Vase exit

Saturday 14 September 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 15 September 2019 at 15:31)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were beaten 1-0 by Tadley Calleva in the Buildbase FA Vase second qualifying round.

Barlows Park, 14th September 2019

Any hopes Royal Wootton Bassett Town had of a length run in the Buildbase FA Vase were extinguished as a late penalty saw Sam Collier's side defeated 1-0 by Tadley Calleva in the competition's second qualifying round.

Big winners away against New College in the previous round, their visit to the Wessex League Premier Division outfit's Barlows Park ground was always going to be a much more tricky affair.

But Bassett matched their opponents, who like their visitors had so far failed to find form in the league.

A tight contest ensued with chances at a premium for both sides.

However, the tie was eventually settled in the closing minutes when the hosts were awarded a penalty, which Connor Thorne dispatched.

For the fifteenth time in nineteen seasons, Bassett's participation in the national competition therefore disappointingly ended in the qualifying stages.

Other Match Reports

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)