Bassett push leaders all the way in narrow defeat

Saturday 04 January 2020 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 05 January 2020 at 15:33)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town gave runaway leaders Westfields a scare, falling to a narrow 3-2 defeat in a closely fought contest in Herefordshire.

Allpay Park, 4th January 2020

A trip to Westfields was always going to be a daunting prospect for Royal Wootton Bassett Town. But while the result - a defeat - was arguably as expected, Sam Collier's side, beaten by the odd goal in five, can hold their heads high after pushing the still undefeated Hellenic League Premier Division leaders all the way.

The outcome was a massive improvement on the 6-1 thrashing suffered at home and demonstrates the progress that has been made over the past month by a rejuvenated squad infused with youth.

Early on it appeared that a repeat of the fixture in Wiltshire was on the cards, Westfields taking an early lead when Ben Miller pounced on the loose ball after Bassett failed to clear from a corner and swept home.

But the visitors were soon on level terms. Alfie Presley's superb through ball split the Westfields defence and, latching onto the pass, Mark Francis produced a fine finish to equalise.

Westfields' lead was restored just before the half hour mark though. A free kick was swung into the box and Kane Kahaki rose highest to head towards goal. Matt Bulman kept his effort out but Cameron Peters was on hand to steer in the rebound.

Despite falling behind again, Bassett's heads didn't drop. And they responded positively, almost equalising when Dan Warre rounded 'keeper Joe Gorman only to see Ryan Green produce an outstanding goalline clearance to deny the youngster his second in as many games.

Gorman would be replaced midway through the second half as he injured his foot when attempting to clear. Kahaki took over between the sticks, but Bassett were unable to take advantage of their hosts being forced to play with an outfield player in goal.

Instead Westfields extended their advantage. Shortly after Bulman did well to deny Daniel Stoneman, Bassett lost possession in the home side's territory and were duly punished, Aidan Thomas eventually drilling home.

There was still action to come and questions were asked of Westfields when Francis grabbed a second with a deflected effort with minutes to spare.

But for all Bassett's efforts to salvage a point, Westfields saw out the remaining time to move another step closer towards what increasingly appears to be their title.

Other Match Reports

Sat 7th Mar 2020 - Easington Sports (A)

Tue 3rd Mar 2020 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 18th Feb 2020 - Windsor (A)

Sat 8th Feb 2020 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 1st Feb 2020 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 25th Jan 2020 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 11th Jan 2020 - Longlevens (H)

Sat 4th Jan 2020 - Westfields (A)

Sat 28th Dec 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 14th Dec 2019 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 7th Dec 2019 - Reading City (A)

Sat 30th Nov 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Nov 2019 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 19th Nov 2019 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 9th Nov 2019 - Burnham (H)

Sat 2nd Nov 2019 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 29th Oct 2019 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 26th Oct 2019 - Binfield (H)

Tue 22nd Oct 2019 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)