Home hurt continues

Saturday 09 November 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 10 November 2019 at 15:58)

Despite taking the lead, Royal Wootton Bassett Town fell to a 3-1 home defeat against Burnham.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 9th November 2019

Royal Wootton Bassett Town have now played a dozen home games in all competitions during the 2019-20 season - and they remain without a win after a disappointing 3-1 home loss against fell bottom half side Burnham.

The result represented Bassett's ninth defeat on home soil, with only two league points having been recorded from games played at the Gerard Buxton Sports Ground.

And that record goes a long way to explaining the plight Sam Collier's side find themselves in. After thirteen games, just over a third of the season, they sit in 17th place in the Hellenic League Premier Division. With results from games played elsewhere going against them too, they are in danger of falling adrift.

Luck certainly was not with Bassett when they hosted Burnham as the hosts were forced to play half the game with left back Dale Richards in goal after Declan Lehmann suffered a rib injury that meant he was forced off at half time.

At that point, the scored stood at 1-1.

TJ Bohane had headed Bassett in front on the half hour mark, flicking in Brad Pagliaroli's first time cross at the near post after good hold up play in the left corner from Danny Langford.

But the visitors grabbed a cheap equaliser within minutes. Jonny Davoile was dispossessed in the middle of the park, and a quick through ball was threaded through for Oliver Harris, who calmly slotted home.

The enforced change played a role in Burnham's second on 65 minutes. Richards' underhit a clearance and the ball was quickly worked up to Gavin James, who curled a low strike off the post and into the bottom right corner from the edge of the area.

James then sealed the points for the visitors with ten minutes remaining to condemn Bassett to yet another home loss.

Last season, Bassett collected 35 of their 48 points at the Gerard Buxton Sports Ground. However, so far this season what was something of a fortress has turned into a welcoming environment for visiting sides.

Other Match Reports

Sat 8th Feb 2020 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 1st Feb 2020 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 25th Jan 2020 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 11th Jan 2020 - Longlevens (H)

Sat 4th Jan 2020 - Westfields (A)

Sat 28th Dec 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 14th Dec 2019 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 7th Dec 2019 - Reading City (A)

Sat 30th Nov 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Nov 2019 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 19th Nov 2019 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 9th Nov 2019 - Burnham (H)

Sat 2nd Nov 2019 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 29th Oct 2019 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 26th Oct 2019 - Binfield (H)

Tue 22nd Oct 2019 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)