Seven up as Bassett finally double up

Saturday 30 November 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 01 December 2019 at 14:55)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town racked up a convincing 7-3 victory against Holmer Green as they finally recorded consecutive league triumphs.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 30th November 2019

An outstanding attacking display saw Royal Wootton Bassett Town romp to victory against Hellenic League Premier Division basement dwellers Holmer Green – and record back-to-back league wins for the first time this season.

Despite a nightmare start, Sam Collier's side recovered to lead 5-2 at half time before ultimately triumphing 7-3 as five different players registered on the scoresheet.

A defensive error from Aaron Oakley had gifted Holmer Green a first minute lead Lewis Workman took full advantage for the visitors.

But within quarter of an hour Bassett had recovered and enjoyed a healthy lead.

Mark Francis equalised on six minutes before producing a fine finish from just inside the area a minute later.

Defender Carl Evans then headed the home side's third after thirteen minutes. Evans struck again midway through the period, heading in from a Gio Wrona free kick to make it 4-1.

Francis could have made it five – and completed a hat-trick – on the half hour mark but he was cruelly denied by the post with a chipped effort.

And shortly after the visitors reduced Bassett's lead, as Oakley was caught out again, this time enabling Pawel Kotwica to score.

But the three-goal lead was restored seven minutes before the interval as TJ Bohane was fouled in the box, dusted himself off and confidently dispatched the penalty.

It should even have been 6-2 before half time, but Wrona contrived to miss an open goal after an Alfie Presley shot had been pushed out to the Bassett skipper.

Brad Pagliaroli eventually added another six minutes after the restart, scoring his fifth of the season following excellent set up play from Dan Warre, the Bassett youth section product impressing again in his second start.

The home side had been imperious in attack. But defensive weaknesses were still apparent, which enabled Holmer Green to net a third with twenty minutes to go. Sloppily, Bassett turned over possession when in attack, and the visitors broke down the right wing before a switch of play to an unmarked Kai Morgan who fired past Declan Lehmann.

But Bassett would not allow the visitors to have the final say in the game, Caine Bradbury netting a seventh. The goal was somewhat fortuitous, his mishit cross, intended for Bohane at the far post, instead looping over the 'keeper. Yet it had followed great build up play.

Goals certainly have not been Bassett's problem this season so far. Instead, generosity at the other end of the pitch has heavily influenced what has been a rather disappointing opening four months of the campaign.

However, the convincing victory against Holmer Green sees Bassett regain touch with the tightly bunched middle pack of teams in the division. They remain 17th but are now only four points off tenth place Flackwell Heath (albeit having played four games more).

That gives the team every chance of extricating themselves from the lower reaches of the table. But it will require this modest winning streak not to be another false dawn.

Other Match Reports

Sat 30th Nov 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Nov 2019 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 19th Nov 2019 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 9th Nov 2019 - Burnham (H)

Sat 2nd Nov 2019 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 29th Oct 2019 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 26th Oct 2019 - Binfield (H)

Tue 22nd Oct 2019 - Tuffley Rovers (H)

Sat 12th Oct 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Wed 9th Oct 2019 - Westbury United (A)

Sat 5th Oct 2019 - Windsor (H)

Sat 28th Sep 2019 - Hereford Lads Club (H)

Wed 25th Sep 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)