Bassett show fight to battle back for point

Saturday 07 September 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 07 September 2019 at 17:55)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town picked up a valuable point, drawing 2-2 at home against Reading City.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 7th September 2019

Royal Wootton Bassett Town twice came from behind as they claimed a valuable point in a 2-2 draw against Reading City.

Sam Collier's team will be slightly disappointed not to have claimed all three points as a strong second half performance saw them create numerous good chances. But, even though they have still yet to register a league win, they can be satisfied with taking something from a Reading team who have enjoyed a solid start to their 2019-20 campaign.

In an evenly-contested first half, it was Reading who took the lead seven minutes before half time, Matt Stockill stroking home a penalty after Mo Davies had been felled.

It took until the hour mark for Bassett got back on level terms. A quickly taken free kick caught the Reading back line off guard, and Callum Parsons was able to race onto the loose ball before beating visiting 'keeper Charlie York.

But parity would only last for ten minutes as Bassett were punished for conceding possession. Reading midfielder Stockill still had a lot to do when he found himself on the ball. However, he produced a outstanding long range strike to register his second of the game.

Fortunately for Bassett though, they mustered a response. And a stunning free kick from Caine Bradbury with six minutes remaining earned a share of the spoils.

Other Match Reports

Sat 21st Sep 2019 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 14th Sep 2019 - Tadley Calleva (A)

Tue 10th Sep 2019 - Malvern Town (H)

Sat 7th Sep 2019 - Reading City (H)

Tue 3rd Sep 2019 - Westfields (H)

Fri 30th Aug 2019 - New College Swindon (A)

Sat 17th Aug 2019 - Stonehouse Town (A)

Tue 13th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (A)

Sat 10th Aug 2019 - Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (H)

Tue 6th Aug 2019 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 3rd Aug 2019 - Holmer Green (A)