Perfect ten takes Ladies a step closer

Sunday 24 March 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 24 March 2019 at 17:06)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies recorded a thumping 10-1 victory at home against Laverstock and Ford as they took another step towards sealing the South West Women's Football League Eastern Division title.

Remaining five points clear of Frampton Rangers having played a game more, victories in their final two games will guarantee Bassett top spot.

Against Laverstock, Bassett's front-pairing of Emily Arrell and Hayley Huckin once again proved too hot for their opponents to handle, and they plundered eight goals between them.

Following an early scare that saw the visitors hit the post, Bassett went ahead through Arrell as she latched onto Emma Sykes' sublime through ball and slotted home from an angle.

Numerous chances followed for Bassett before the impressive Sykes eventually set up Arrell for her second. Great passing play between Lauren Kayll, Jess Dent and Hollie Timbrell saw the ball worked into the feet of Sykes. And she teed up the forward who made no mistake.

Arrell turned creator for Bassett's third, whipping in a cross for Huckin to head home, before Laura Jefferies repeated that trick Lisa Coe's delivery.

Arrell then completed her hat trick, firing emphatically past the 'keeper and had her fourth after decisively winning a foot race.

Huckin provided the seventh, racing onto Jefferies' through ball before finding the net, while Kayll was on hand for the eighth.

Arrell and Huckin rounded off the scoring for Bassett, who conceded a late penalty, scored by Sheriden Palk after Hannah Gulliver was judged to have committed a foul.

Next up for Bassett is a trip to third place Cheltenham Town Development in a fortnight's time before their final fixture against Swindon Town Development.

Other Match Reports

Sun 14th Apr 2019 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 7th Apr 2019 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 24th Mar 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 17th Mar 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (N)

Sun 3rd Mar 2019 - Frampton Rangers (A)

Sun 24th Feb 2019 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 17th Feb 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 10th Feb 2019 - AEK Boco Ladies (H)

Sun 27th Jan 2019 - Trowbridge Town (A)

Sun 20th Jan 2019 - Melksham Town (H)

Sun 13th Jan 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 16th Dec 2018 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 9th Dec 2018 - Frampton Rangers (H)

Sun 25th Nov 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (H)

Sun 18th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (A)

Sun 11th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 4th Nov 2018 - AEK Boco Ladies (A)

Sun 21st Oct 2018 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sun 14th Oct 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Sun 7th Oct 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 30th Sep 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Sun 23rd Sep 2018 - Salisbury (H)

Sun 9th Sep 2018 - Warsash Wasps (A)