Seven up as Ladies stroll past Chippenham

Sunday 24 February 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 24 February 2019 at 16:15)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies recorded a resounding 7-0 victory against FC Chippenham as they retained their eight point lead at the top of the South West Women's Football League Eastern Division.

Facing an FC Chippenham side who have struggled this season, Bassett got off to the perfect start as Hayley Huckin cut in from the right and fired into the bottom corner to give her side the lead.

It took time for Bassett to get their second as the visitors' 'keeper pulled off a number of fine saves. Eventually Chippenham's resistance was broken though as a Laura Jefferies corner found its way to Hollie Timbrell to slot in at the far post.

A third then arrived before half time. A Lisa Coe corner was flapped at by the Chippenham 'keeper. She was able to recover to block Huckin's shot, but the rebound fell to Aly Lyons to tap in.

Following the restart great combination play between Lyons, Timbrell and Jess Dent set up Emily Arrell, who twisted her way past a couple of defenders before coolly finishing for the hosts' fourth of the game. Arrell then teed up Huckin, who beat the offside trap for the fifth.

After Lauren Kayll had a penalty saved, Bassett eventually recorded a sixth as Huckin produced a composed finish after having run half the length of the pitch to complete her hat-trick.

Arrell completed the scoring, netting her second after Huckin returned the favour to set her up.

Tougher tests await Bassett, but it was an important victory nonetheless as they attempt to close in on the title.

And next week's visit to second place Frampton Rangers will be crucial. Having played two games more, Bassett are eight points clear and another win will see them take another significant step towards clinching top spot.

Other Match Reports

Sun 14th Apr 2019 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 7th Apr 2019 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 24th Mar 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 17th Mar 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (N)

Sun 3rd Mar 2019 - Frampton Rangers (A)

Sun 24th Feb 2019 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 17th Feb 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 10th Feb 2019 - AEK Boco Ladies (H)

Sun 27th Jan 2019 - Trowbridge Town (A)

Sun 20th Jan 2019 - Melksham Town (H)

Sun 13th Jan 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 16th Dec 2018 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 9th Dec 2018 - Frampton Rangers (H)

Sun 25th Nov 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (H)

Sun 18th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (A)

Sun 11th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 4th Nov 2018 - AEK Boco Ladies (A)

Sun 21st Oct 2018 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sun 14th Oct 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Sun 7th Oct 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 30th Sep 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Sun 23rd Sep 2018 - Salisbury (H)

Sun 9th Sep 2018 - Warsash Wasps (A)