Flying start helps Ladies get the better of Boco

Sunday 04 November 2018 - by Jonathon House (Updated on 04 November 2018 at 19:37)

Four first half goals helped Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies defeat South West Women's Football League Eastern Division table-toppers AEK Boco 4-1.

Bassett looked to get on the front foot from the outset and got the goal their play deserved when Hayley Huckin controlled the ball before turning and shooting from 25 yards out, from where she found the top corner.

The visitors were playing the ball around neatly and put together some excellent moves all through the first half.

Bassett grabbed their second when Huckin managed to poke home following a decent save from the AEK Boco goalkeeper.

The third then came when sixteen-year-old debutant Lauren Kayll drove into the box and finished neatly from a tight angle.

Bassett assumed greater control of the match shortly after when Emily Arrell dribbled into the area and finished emphatically past the 'keeper.

With a commanding lead, Bassett made plenty of changes at half time and through the second half, giving some well-deserved game time to player after an excellent week of training.

Boco improved after the restart too and managed to grab themselves a couple of well-taken goals from substitutes Charlotte Brankin and Eloise Nicholas.

But Bassett's efforts in the opening period ensured the all-important three points that pull the team within six points of new leaders Cheltenham Town Development who have played two games more.

Other Match Reports

Sun 18th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (A)

Sun 11th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 4th Nov 2018 - AEK Boco Ladies (A)

Sun 21st Oct 2018 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sun 14th Oct 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Sun 7th Oct 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 30th Sep 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Sun 23rd Sep 2018 - Salisbury (H)

Sun 9th Sep 2018 - Warsash Wasps (A)