Five star Ladies fly past Boco

Sunday 10 February 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 10 February 2019 at 16:33)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies moved eight points clear at the top of the South West Women's League Eastern Division with a 5-0 thrashing of AEK Boco.

With Frampton Rangers suffering a postponement, Bassett made sure to ramp up the pressure on their nearest rivals, and, despite it taking until the latter stages of the opening period for them to take the lead against Boco, the result never appeared in doubt.

Eventually the visitors' resistance was broken when Lauren Kayll touched a free kick to Laura Jefferies, who fired a clean strike into the top corner from 25 yards.

Bassett's second - a fantastically worked goal - soon followed. The impressive Kayll did brilliantly to recover possession before slotting a pass through to Emily Arrell, who produced a composed finish.

It was 3-0 before half time as Arrell added her second, finding the net after being set up by Holly Baker.

Kayll was then once again involved in the build up when Bassett added their fourth midway through the second half. She arrowed in a cross, which picked out Hannah Gulliver. Her shot was kept out by the legs of the Boco 'keeper and the rebound fell to Hollie Timbrell, who made no mistake.

A defensive mix-up subsequently set up Bassett for their fifth as Baker fired in from twenty yards.

It was not all plain sailing towards the end for the hosts as they harshly conceded a penalty. But the clean sheet - Bassett's fifth in a row and seventh in their last ten games - remained intact when the spot kick was smashed against the bar.

Other Match Reports

Sun 14th Apr 2019 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 7th Apr 2019 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 24th Mar 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 17th Mar 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (N)

Sun 3rd Mar 2019 - Frampton Rangers (A)

Sun 24th Feb 2019 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 17th Feb 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 10th Feb 2019 - AEK Boco Ladies (H)

Sun 27th Jan 2019 - Trowbridge Town (A)

Sun 20th Jan 2019 - Melksham Town (H)

Sun 13th Jan 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 16th Dec 2018 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 9th Dec 2018 - Frampton Rangers (H)

Sun 25th Nov 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (H)

Sun 18th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (A)

Sun 11th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 4th Nov 2018 - AEK Boco Ladies (A)

Sun 21st Oct 2018 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sun 14th Oct 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Sun 7th Oct 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 30th Sep 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Sun 23rd Sep 2018 - Salisbury (H)

Sun 9th Sep 2018 - Warsash Wasps (A)