Ladies back to winning ways

Sunday 14 October 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 14 October 2018 at 17:55)

Goals from Hannah Gulliver and Gracie Bridger secured a 2-1 victory for Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies against Swindon Town as they got back to winning ways following defeat against Swindon Spitfires last week.

Bassett made a bright start and were ahead early on when a goalmouth scramble ensued following a well-taken corner and Hannah Gulliver bundled home.

While going behind, Swindon - who defeated Bassett three times last season - were playing good football too, and the remainder of the opening period was an end-to-end, open affair.

But Bassett were proving to be more clinical and were able to go into half time two goals to the good when Gracie Bridger swivelled in the box and fired in on the turn.

Taking a two goal lead, Bassett knew that their task for the second half would be to defend resolutely as Swindon sought to get back into the game.

And Bassett performed their defensive duties resolutely. A combination of superb defending and positive goalkeeping meant that, despite Swindon halving their deficit early in the period, the hosts were able to hold on to clinch a vital three points.

Other Match Reports

Sun 14th Apr 2019 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 7th Apr 2019 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 24th Mar 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 17th Mar 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (N)

Sun 3rd Mar 2019 - Frampton Rangers (A)

Sun 24th Feb 2019 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 17th Feb 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 10th Feb 2019 - AEK Boco Ladies (H)

Sun 27th Jan 2019 - Trowbridge Town (A)

Sun 20th Jan 2019 - Melksham Town (H)

Sun 13th Jan 2019 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 16th Dec 2018 - Laverstock and Ford (A)

Sun 9th Dec 2018 - Frampton Rangers (H)

Sun 25th Nov 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (H)

Sun 18th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (A)

Sun 11th Nov 2018 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 4th Nov 2018 - AEK Boco Ladies (A)

Sun 21st Oct 2018 - Trowbridge Town (H)

Sun 14th Oct 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Sun 7th Oct 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 30th Sep 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Sun 23rd Sep 2018 - Salisbury (H)

Sun 9th Sep 2018 - Warsash Wasps (A)