Bassett fall late at leaders Brimscombe

Saturday 16 March 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 17 March 2019 at 14:48)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were beaten 2-0 away against Brimscombe and Thrupp as two late goals prevented Sam Collier's team from holding the current Hellenic League Premier Division leaders.

The Meadow, 16th March 2019

Royal Wootton Bassett Town were unable to make use of their one last chance to influence the Hellenic League Premier Division's exciting title race as two late goals condemned them a 2-0 defeat away at current leaders Brimscombe and Thrupp.

The Lilywhites are one of four teams still in the running for top spot. And their victory capped off a good day for them as fellow contenders Wantage Town and Bishop's Cleeve were both held to draws.

Bassett's contest against Brimscombe appeared as though it would be headed for stalemate after an uneventful opening period. The only notable action of note came when the hosts had a goal ruled out for offside after a wayward Jack Horrell shot clipped Jack Smith at the far post and wound up in the net.

The deadlock was eventually broken with twenty minutes to go when Horrell this time found his range and curled a free kick into the bottom corner.

He then rattled the post after a fine move between the always lively Sam Blackie and Ollie Pitt opened up space for Horrell to fire a powerful drive at goal.

Brimscombe eventually made sure of the points in the final minute as Ash Caldwell played in James Campbell for a simple finish.

Other Match Reports

Sat 6th Apr 2019 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 3rd Apr 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 30th Mar 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (H)

Sat 16th Mar 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 2nd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (A)

Sat 16th Feb 2019 - Binfield (H)

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)