Moments of quality at opposite ends earn a share of the spoils

Saturday 02 March 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 02 March 2019 at 21:40)

Nick Stanley's first half volley and an outstanding safe from Gary Aulsberry with twenty minutes remaining helped Royal Wootton Bassett Town earn a hard-earned point away against fifth place Ascot United.

Racecourse Ground, 2nd March 2019

Royal Wootton Bassett Town picked up a valuable point on their travels, holding fifth place Ascot United to a 1-1 draw. Moments of excellence at both ends of the pitch contributed to that result, with Nick Stanley scoring with a fine volley to give Bassett the lead before 'keeper Gary Aulsberry pulled off a stunning save with twenty minutes remaining to preserve parity.

Chances were at something of a premium in the opening period. Still, when the visitors went ahead their goal arrived somewhat against the run of play. It was brilliantly taken though, the in-form Nick Stanley striking a sweet volley past the 'keeper from the edge of the box after the hosts failed to clear an attack.

Bassett held the lead going into the break, but were pegged back on the hour mark. Half time substitution Luqman Kassim brought Ascot level, finishing well when one-on-one with Aulsberry after the Bassett defence had stopped playing.

At the other end, Brad Pagliaroli came close to restoring Bassett's advantage as he hit the post with a volleyed drive from the edge of the box.

Ascot held the upper hand though as the game drew closer to its conclusion. And they thought they had grabbed a second when Lamin Sankoh struck a stunning long-range shot that appeared destined for the top corner, only for Aulsberry to somehow claw the ball away.

Callum Carlisle then headed narrowly wide from a corner before Kassim forced a solid save from Aulsberry following a swift counter.

But, after Bassett saw penalty appears for a handball turned down, the final chance of the match fell to the visitors as, catching Ascot on the break, they found themselves in a two-on-one situation with Danny Lachacz and Stanley bearing down on goal. The opportunity fell to the former, but he fired over.

Other Match Reports

Sat 6th Apr 2019 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 3rd Apr 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 30th Mar 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (H)

Sat 16th Mar 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 2nd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (A)

Sat 16th Feb 2019 - Binfield (H)

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)