Goals galore, but again Bassett fall short of victory

Tuesday 21 August 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 21 August 2018 at 22:21)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town produced a fine comeback to overturn an early 2-0 deficit against Fairford Town. But after leading at the break, they ultimately had to settle for a 3-3 derby draw.

Cinder Lane, 21st August 2018

For the second time in a matter of days, Royal Wootton Bassett Town produced a fine attacking performance that yielded three goals. But, once again, it did not prove enough for victory. Fortunately this time it was enough for a point as they drew 3-3 in another exciting derby encounter against Fairford Town.

In contrast to Saturday's defeat against Windsor, it was Bassett who found themselves having to recover from a significant deficit as Lee Smith opened the scoring on Fairford for six minutes before Mason Thompson, with his team's second shot of the game, doubled the hosts' advantage quarter of an hour later.

But Saturday's protagonists Matt Bennett and Brad Pagliaroli struck within three minutes of one another to restore parity. Rob Lincoln then put Sam Collier's team ahead on the stroke of half time, taking advantage of an excellent cross-field ball before tucking away his richly deserved first goal of the season into the bottom corner.

Bassett would have hoped to have received a momentum boost from that go-ahead goal going into the break.

However, they were pegged back soon after the restart as Thompson swept home his second after a shot had initially been blocked on the line.

Though there were chances for both teams thereafter, neither was capable of finding a winner, ensuring that a thrilling spectacle ended honours even.

It was another match that would have thrilled the neutral supporter. But for Bassett it was another game that ended in frustration.

At least this time, they did have something to show for their efforts.

Other Match Reports

Sat 6th Apr 2019 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 3rd Apr 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 30th Mar 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (H)

Sat 16th Mar 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 2nd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (A)

Sat 16th Feb 2019 - Binfield (H)

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)