Bohane delivers a set-piece special

Saturday 15 December 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 15 December 2018 at 19:34)

TJ Bohane scored a penalty and two free-kicks in a whirlwind ten minute first half spell to secure a 3-1 away victory against Tuffley Rovers for Royal Wootton Bassett Town.

Glevum Park, 15th December 2018

Royal Wootton Bassett Town overcame an early deficit - as well as the blustering wind and driving rain - as TJ Bohane's ten minute hat-trick secured a 3-1 triumph away against Hellenic League Premier Division basement dwellers Tuffley Rovers.

Repeating his feat against Tuffley on the opening day of the campaign, Bohane's three-timer was a set-piece masterclass as he fired in a penalty before twice finding the net from free kicks.

It was something of an achievement that the game went ahead. And Bassett will be thankful that the referee allowed the game to be played to a conclusion despite the conditions getting worse as the game went on.

Whether Sam Collier would have felt that way after falling behind in the 14th minute is questionable, though there can be no complaints about the goal his goal conceded as Henry Birkett smashed in a stunning strike from 25 yards.

Bassett were soon back on level terms though, earning a penalty which Bohane coolly put away.

Bohane then put his side in front on 23 minutes. Awarded a free kick on the edge of the area that was arguably somewhat harsh on the hosts, the forward stepped to the plate and curled an exquisite strike into the top left corner beyond the reach of home 'keeper Kane Winman.

Three minutes later he had his hat-trick. Bassett were given another free kick in an advantageous position, which Bohane struck. The ball took a deflection, wrong-footing Winman who was just unable to recover as it trickled over the line.

Both teams battled on for the remainder of the contest, Tuffley fighting valiantly to try and get back in the game. But the best opportunity they could muster came early on in the second period and fell to Brett James, who shot narrowly wide after his progress had been slowed by the churning mud.

The result means Bassett are now six games unbeaten in the league as they try and keep pace with the sides above them and maintain the small advantage they hold over the chasing pack, the members of which all have multiple games in hand.

Other Match Reports

Sat 6th Apr 2019 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 3rd Apr 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 30th Mar 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (H)

Sat 16th Mar 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 2nd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (A)

Sat 16th Feb 2019 - Binfield (H)

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)