Bassett beat bogey side

Saturday 08 September 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 09 September 2018 at 10:39)

A fine individual strike from Rob Lincoln and a second half header from TJ Bohane, as well as some outstanding goalkeeping from the veteran Kevin Sawyer, secured a 2-1 victory against Flackwell Heath.

Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, 8th September 2018

Royal Wootton Bassett Town have rarely enjoyed success against Flackwell Heath. In twelve league meetings prior to their opening encounter of the 2018-19 Hellenic League Premier Division campaign, Bassett had triumphed just once against the Buckinghamshire outfit, with three draws providing the only other positives. Indeed, their last seven league meetings had all ended in defeat

But, thanks to an outstanding effort across the pitch, Bassett finally got to taste a second victory against their perennial bogey side as Sam Collier's team prevailed 2-1. A superb, individual effort from Rob Lincoln and TJ Bohane's snap second half header provided the goals they needed, while a diligent defensive display - and two brilliant saves from veteran 'keeper Kevin Sawyer - limited the Heathens to a solitary strike.

The game was sixteen minutes old when Bassett took the lead in style. Adam Corcoran delivered a cross-field ball, which Lincoln brought down expertly with his chest. His control also got him clear of his marker on the left wing, allowing the winger to break towards the goal. Closed down by another defender on the edge of the area, Lincoln produced a sublime piece of skill to fashion up enough space to shoot, and he made no mistake, firing low into the bottom right corner.

The teams were evenly matched though, and Flackwell eventually levelled just after the half hour mark when they caught the hosts out on the break and an unmarked Leius Sinclair swept home.

That equalier provided the visitors a boost of confidence as half time neared and they would have led going into the break were it not for Sawyer's brilliance as he saved low from a free kick, somehow being able to divert the ball over the bar.

It was a set piece that provided what eventually proved to be Bassett's winner. Brad Pagliaroli's deflected free kick was tipped away by 'keeper Aaron Watkins. The save wasn't enough to bat the ball to safety though, and a sliced attempted clearance struck Lincoln, looping back into the six-yard box where Bohane was on hand to produce a poacher's finish and flick a header into the back of the net.

Fighting to again restore parity, Flackwell sought to throw everything they had at Bassett. But they failed to find a way through, their best chance coming when Sawyer thwarted a one-on-one opportunity with another fine stop.

Late on the visitors also felt aggrieved that they weren't awarded a penalty. But in fairness it would have been a harsh award, with Bassett, deserving of another hard-fought three points, ultimately able to see out a stoppage time period that seemed to last an eternity.

Other Match Reports

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)