Late pair condemns subpar Bassett to Abingdon loss

Saturday 09 February 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 09 February 2019 at 19:42)

A pair of stoppage time goals condemned Royal Wootton Bassett Town a 2-0 loss against Hellenic League Premier Division strugglers Abingdon United.

Northcourt Road, 9th February

Abingdon United struck twice from decisive counter attacks in the final minute to snatch all three points against Royal Wootton Bassett Town.

Sam Collier's team have now gone five games without victory in the Hellenic League Premier Division. Though they remain sixth, the five teams immediately below them can all leapfrog Bassett given the games in hand they possess, including local rivals Shrivenham who sit level on points with Bassett while holding three games in hand.

While Bassett, just minutes from claiming a share of the spoils, will be frustrated with the timing of the goals that condemned them to defeat against Abingdon, their substandard performance throughout the contest did not merit them taking anything from the match.

In a scrappy opening half, both teams failed to convert penalties, with TJ Bohane seeing his spot kick saved.

In the second period, neither side appeared as though they would break the deadlock, until Lester Davies rounded off a counter in the 90th minute.

Bassett were then stung in similar style four minutes into added time when Callum Harvey sealed an important victory for Abingdon in their battle against the drop.

Other Match Reports

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)