Bassett frustrate Saints to collect valuable point

Saturday 22 September 2018 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 23 September 2018 at 11:25)

Mark James' first half goal helped Royal Wootton Bassett Town pick up a hard-earned point as they drew 1-1 away against Brackley Town Saints.

St James Park, 22nd September 2018

While it took a strong defensive effort to get over the line, Royal Wootton Bassett Town stretched their unbeaten record against Brackley Town Saints to seven games as they claimed a 1-1 draw away in Northamptonshire.

Defender Mark James had given Bassett the lead eight minutes before half time, steering in after a corner fell to him in the box.

But Brackley, as is typically the case when playing against them, enjoyed a great deal of possession and also created a number of chances in the opening half. However, with Bassett diligently keeping their shape, 'keeper Charlie McCready was only called into action on a couple of occasions before the break, the majority of opportunities the hosts fashioned resulting in shots missing the target.

They eventually made their pressure tell five minutes after the restart as James Watts found the net.

Yet though the remainder of the game followed a similar pattern to that in the first half, Brackley were only able to register one more shot on target, coming via the boot of George Ball.

That meant Bassett were able to secure a valuable, deserved point on their travels against a dangerous, youthful Saints team who have enjoyed a fine start to their season.

In fact, Bassett are only the third team to have avoided defeat in the early stages of the campaign against Brackley, who, given the fact they have a settled, quality squad that has now played together for a number of years, are justifiably viewed by many as a dark horse in the race for the top spots in the Hellenic League Premier Division.

Other Match Reports

Sat 6th Apr 2019 - Longlevens (H)

Wed 3rd Apr 2019 - Longlevens (A)

Sat 30th Mar 2019 - Holmer Green (H)

Sat 23rd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (H)

Sat 16th Mar 2019 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (A)

Sat 2nd Mar 2019 - Ascot United (A)

Sat 16th Feb 2019 - Binfield (H)

Sat 9th Feb 2019 - Abingdon United (A)

Sat 19th Jan 2019 - Wantage Town (H)

Sat 12th Jan 2019 - Ardley United (A)

Sat 29th Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Wed 26th Dec 2018 - Shrivenham (A)

Sat 15th Dec 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Tue 11th Dec 2018 - Windsor (A)

Fri 7th Dec 2018 - Brimscombe and Thrupp (H)

Sat 1st Dec 2018 - Flackwell Heath (A)

Sat 24th Nov 2018 - Holmer Green (A)

Tue 20th Nov 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (H)

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Ardley United (H)

Tue 13th Nov 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 10th Nov 2018 - Binfield (A)

Mon 5th Nov 2018 - Reading City (A)

Sat 3rd Nov 2018 - Abingdon United (H)

Tue 30th Oct 2018 - Virginia Water (H)

Sat 20th Oct 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (H)

Tue 16th Oct 2018 - Westbury United (H)

Sat 13th Oct 2018 - Reading City (H)

Sat 6th Oct 2018 - Wantage Town (A)

Sat 29th Sep 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (A)

Sat 22nd Sep 2018 - Brackley Town Saints (A)

Tue 18th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Sat 15th Sep 2018 - Bashley (H)

Tue 11th Sep 2018 - Virginia Water (A)

Sat 8th Sep 2018 - Flackwell Heath (H)

Tue 4th Sep 2018 - Lydney Town (A)

Sat 1st Sep 2018 - Windsor (H)

Mon 27th Aug 2018 - Shrivenham (H)

Sat 25th Aug 2018 - Lydney Town (H)

Tue 21st Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (A)

Sat 18th Aug 2018 - Windsor (A)

Tue 14th Aug 2018 - Bishop's Cleeve (A)

Sat 11th Aug 2018 - Leighton Town (A)

Tue 7th Aug 2018 - Fairford Town (H)

Sat 4th Aug 2018 - Tuffley Rovers (H)