Eagles preys on Gulls in routine Ladies win

Sunday 12 January 2020 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 12 January 2020 at 18:42)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies returned to winning ways with a 5-0 victory against basement dwellers Torquay United as Grace Eagles and Hayley Huckin both scored doubles.

After last week's disappointing loss against Ilminster Town, joint managers Jonny House and James Goddard demanded a response against Torquay. And they got one with their side delivering a comfortable win a comfortable win and a clean sheet.

Bassett had already inflicted two heavy defeats on Torquay so far this season. And the early stages of the game hinted that they would be victorious again, Eagles and Amber Egerton forcing saves from Alina Wright with Hannah Gulliver firing just wide in the opening quarter of an hour.

Miscommunication between Laura Jefferies and Lara Wilson shortly after did almost present Hannah Gladman with an opener for the visitors but fortunately her shot was tame and off target.

Normal service was then resumed on 19 minutes, with Eagles putting Bassett in front, firing into the top corner after an incisive run and inside turn.

After Huckin blazed over when presented with a golden opportunity, captain Jefferies delivered Bassett's second nine minute before the interval. Stepping out of defence she found space opening up for her and scored with a cool lob from 25 yards.

If there was one criticism of Bassett in the first half it was their failure to be more clinical in front of goal. And that continued after the restart. First Huckin was unable to score when one-on-one. She then found herself in a similar position, this time deciding to square to Maddie Elliott whose scuffed shot was palmed away by Wright.

Eventually though Bassett extended their lead and added further goals.

On the hour Huckin tapped in from a Gulliver cutback.

Ten minutes later she again provided a simple finish after Jefferies' towering delivery struck the post.

Eagles then completed the scoring, finding herself on the end of a Gulliver cross before guiding home.

Other Match Reports

Sun 12th Jan 2020 - Torquay United Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Jan 2020 - Ilminster Town (A)

Sun 1st Dec 2019 - Middlezoy Rovers (H)

Sun 17th Nov 2019 - Melksham Town (H)

Sun 10th Nov 2019 - Bideford (A)

Sun 3rd Nov 2019 - Bideford (H)

Sun 27th Oct 2019 - Keynsham Town Development (H)

Sun 20th Oct 2019 - Torquay United Ladies (A)

Sun 6th Oct 2019 - Portishead Town (A)

Sun 29th Sep 2019 - Callington Town (H)

Sun 22nd Sep 2019 - Torquay United Ladies (H)

Sun 15th Sep 2019 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 8th Sep 2019 - Marine Academy Plymouth (A)

Sun 1st Sep 2019 - Chipping Sodbury Town (H)