Tomes tops Fantasy League!

Monday 20th May 2024

For the second season in a row a new name has been added to the RWBTFC Fantasy Football League honours board as Ben Tomes and his 'Toonali' squad claimed the 2023-24 title.

Tomes became the fifth winner in the last five years as he finished on 2,559 points, 25 points clear of runner-up (and reigning champion) Joe Mitchell, who - despite a strong final week - was unable to reclaim his crown. Mitchell has now finished as runner-up in three of the past four seasons.

In a tight race, fewer than 50 points separated first from fourth. And there was just a single point between third and fourth with Under 13 Blues manager Mark Cooper (2,511) beating out 2013-14 champion Michael Case (2,510). Five time champion Andy Guppy (2,468) then rounded out the top five.

Steven Astin - winner in 2020-21 - achieved a ninth place finish, behind Nigel Morecroft, Ian Paulton and Gordon Tennant. Steve Jones then completed the top ten.

For the second year in a row there was also a cup competition. And in the final James Skinner's 'In at the back post' outfit recorded an emphatic 71-51 triumph against Marc Creswell's 'Fishbowl Racing' side.

Huge thanks go to all 225 entrants who took part in this year's Fantasy League – that figure is yet another record, eclipsing the 176 who entered last season.

The Fantasy League is always great fun and, importantly, remains free to enter. The league will be up and running again next season for its fifteenth edition – and we look forward to seeing even more participants.

Last modified on Monday 20th May 2024 at 08:24.