Provisional Hellenic League Premier Division constitution announced

Sunday 19 May 2019 - by Stuart Smedley (Updated on 19 May 2019 at 09:52)

The provisional constitution for the 2019-20 Hellenic League Premier Division season has been published by the Football Association, with the allocations for all leagues at steps one through six being exclusively revealed in the Non-League Paper.

Changes have not taken place on the same scale as last season. But four teams have joined the division – two of which Bassett will meet competitively for the first time in their history, while three teams have left the division. Meanwhile, Bassett will reacquaint themselves with two teams.

For the first time in their history, Easington Sports will play in the Hellenic League Premier Division after sealing the Division One West title. Since joining the Hellenic League, Bassett have faced Easington 36 times in the league – more than any other side set to feature in next season's Premier Division.

All of those meetings have taken place in either Division One or Division One West, with Bassett recording twenty victories to Easington's eight, with eight draws. The last time the teams met was during in Division One West in 2011-12, when both fixtures ended 1-1. A 2-1 victory in Oxfordshire against Sports, sealed courtesy of Sam Collier's late lob, earned Bassett runners-up spot in Division One West in 2009-10.

Burnham are the other familiar face who Bassett will square off against once again after they earned promotion back to step five at the first attempt by winning Division One East.

Bassett met the Blues in the 2016-17 and 2017-18 campaigns, winning both meetings at the Gerard Buxton Sports Ground, while falling to a pair of defeats in Buckinghamshire.

The two sides Bassett will face for the first time competitively are Westfields and Chipping Sodbury Town.

Westfields, based in Hereford, have received a lateral transfer from the Midlands League Premier Division (alongside four Division One sides from that league who move across into Division One West). And they bring plenty of pedigree.

Westfields have been playing at step five since the 2003-04 season, racking up back-to-back runners-up finishes in the Midland Football Alliance in 2011-12 and 2012-13. Last season in the Midlands League they finished fourth.

The Fields have had plenty of cup success too. In the past six seasons, they have reached the fourth round (last 32) of the FA Vase on two occasions, with three trips to the third round.

Most impressively, in 2016-17 Wesfields reached the first round of the FA Cup after beginning their journey in the extra preliminary round. Of their six qualifying round wins, three were against higher level opponents. They were then beaten in a first round replay by Curzon Ashton of the National League North.

Meanwhile, Chipping Sodbury Town have been transferred across from the Western League Premier Division, where they have played for the past three seasons. They boost the size of the Hellenic Premier's Gloucestershire contingent to seven teams.

The Sods were promoted to Division One of the Western League after finishing third in the Gloucestershire County League in 2014-15. They gained immediate promotion to Premier Division as they finished as Division One champions on goal difference. During their time in the Premier Division they twice finished 13th before winding up tenth last season.

Bassett have previously faced Chipping Sodbury in a friendly, winning 2-0 away from home ahead of the 2017-18 campaign.

Next season Bassett will not be facing Wantage Town, Ascot United and Abingdon United.

Having earned the Hellenic League Premier Division title on the final day of the season, Wantage have been promoted to the Southern League Division One Central. After twelve seasons in the Hellenic League – including ten as members of the Premier Division, Ascot have been transferred to the Combined Counties League Premier Division. Meanwhile, Abingdon are relegated to Hellenic League Division One East after finishing bottom of the Premier Division.


The full provisional constitution for the 2019-20 Hellenic League Premier Division is as follows:

Ardley United
Bishop's Cleeve
Brackley Town Saints
Brimscombe and Thrupp
Chipping Sodbury Town
Easington Sports
Fairford Town
Flackwell Heath
Holmer Green
Lydney Town
Reading City
Royal Wootton Bassett Town
Tuffley Rovers
Virginia Water

Recent Headlines

This week

Under 16 Yellows keep rolling (23/10)

Bassett Tuff out a draw (22/10)

This month

Ladies net seven in Devon (20/10)

Under 12 Yellows reign in the rain (14/10)

Free Saturday Skills and SSE Wildcats Girls' Football Sessions (14/10)

Club Development Officer sought (13/10)

Late Parsons pair seals deserved win (12/10)

Upcoming events for youth section parents (11/10)

Bassett exit Premier Shield (09/10)

100% record retained for Under 18 Yellows (07/10)

Ladies suffer frustrating Women’s FA Cup exit (06/10)

Familiar theme as set piece struggles again haunt Bassett (05/10)

Race Night Fundraiser (04/10)


Comeback for the ages gets Under 13 Yellows off the mark (30/09)

Callington clip Ladies’ wings (29/09)

Bassett suffer Challenge Cup exit (28/09)

60 years on: Bassett’s remarkable FA Amateur Cup run (26/09)

Wait for a win over as Bassett deservedly down Levens (25/09)

Walking Football moves to Monday nights (24/09)

Ladies handed Portishead trip in Women’s FA Cup (23/09)

Three progress in North Wilts League Cup (22/09)

Bassett domin-eight Gulls in Cup triumph (22/09)

Waters easily outsmart pedestrian Bassett (21/09)

Cup success for Under 15 and 18 Blues (16/09)

Ladies make successful start to County Cup defence (15/09)

Bassett pay late penalty in Vase exit (14/09)

Soccer Skills Academy October Holiday Camp (13/09)

Bassett set for Tadley Vase test (11/09)

200 up for Corcoran (10/09)

Cake Sale this Saturday (10/09)

Floodlit Cup offers no salvation as struggles continue (10/09)

A new season has started! (09/09)

Five-star Ladies off to a perfect start (08/09)

Bassett show fight to battle back for point (07/09)

Classy Westfields hit Bassett for six (03/09)

Assistant Manager sought for Under 9 Blues (02/09)

Ladies to host Torquay in Women’s FA Cup (02/09)

Free Saturday Skills Sessions and SSE Wildcats Girls’ Football Centre (02/09)

Dutch friends into KNVB Cup first round (01/09)

Ladies stick seven past Sods to advance in Women’s FA Cup (01/09)

Development team management change (31/08)

Bassett cruise past College (30/08)

Ladies set for latest new adventure (27/08)

Cup doubleheader this weekend (25/08)

Discount available at SNES for RWBTFC members (19/08)

Bassett strike five in cup goalfest (17/08)

Set piece woe dogs Bassett in FA Cup exit (13/08)

Cup stalemate (10/08)

Bassett present Shrivy a derby gift (06/08)

Ladies fixtures released (04/08)