Ladies strike it Rich early in eleventh straight win

Sunday 04 February 2018 - by Stu (Updated on 04 February 2018 at 16:26)

A trio of first half goals secured victory for Royal Wootton Bassett Town Ladies as they made it eleven wins out of eleven in the South West Women's League Eastern Division with a 3-1 triumph against Team Mendip.

And Bassett were indebted to a stunning start, which saw them take the lead within two minutes.

Laura Gammon earned a free kick just outside the area and midfield playmaker Michelle Rich stepped up to curl the set piece beyond the visitors' 'keeper.

The Somerset side, who started the afternoon fifth in the table, were able to get back on level terms midway through period, taking advantage of some poor marking from a corner to head home the equaliser.

However, Bassett struck twice in the closing minutes of the half to gain a two goal lead, which ultimately proved enough for victory.

Gammon was first to find the net, looping a clever shot over the Mendip 'keeper following an Emma Sykes toe poke, before good pressure from Holly Baker forced an unfortunate visiting defender to turn the ball into her own net.

Other Match Reports

Thu 17th May 2018 - Cheltenham Town Development (A)

Sun 13th May 2018 - Oldland Abbotonians (A)

Wed 9th May 2018 - Frome Town Ladies (A)

Thu 3rd May 2018 - Swindon Town Development (H)

Thu 19th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (A)

Sun 15th Apr 2018 - Swindon Town Development (N)

Sun 8th Apr 2018 - Portishead Town (H)

Sun 25th Mar 2018 - Portishead Town (A)

Sun 11th Mar 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 25th Feb 2018 - St Nicholas Reserves (H)

Sun 18th Feb 2018 - FC Chippenham (H)

Sun 4th Feb 2018 - Team Mendip (H)

Sun 7th Jan 2018 - Swindon Spitfires (A)

Sun 3rd Dec 2017 - Laverstock and Ford (H)

Sun 12th Nov 2017 - Frome Town Ladies (H)

Sun 5th Nov 2017 - FC Chippenham (A)

Sun 29th Oct 2017 - Oldland Abbotonians (H)

Sun 22nd Oct 2017 - Team Mendip (A)

Sun 8th Oct 2017 - Almondsbury (H)

Sun 1st Oct 2017 - The Market Lavington and Easterton United (A)

Sun 24th Sep 2017 - Cheltenham Civil Service (A)

Sun 17th Sep 2017 - Swindon Spitfires (H)

Sun 10th Sep 2017 - St Nicholas Reserves (A)

Sun 3rd Sep 2017 - AFC Bournemouth (H)