2021-22 Hellenic League Premier Division constitution update

Friday 25th June 2021

Following the successful appeals of Ardley United and Easington Sports regarding their league allocation, the constitution of the 2021-22 Hellenic League Premier Division has changed.

The league is now set to run with 20 rather than 22 teams, with Ardley being moved to the Spartan South Midlands Football League Premier Division and Easington placed in the United Counties League Premier Division South.

Their lateral transfers spell the end of an era, with both sides representing two of Bassett's most frequently faced opponents during their Hellenic League tenure.

Bassett have faced Easington on 38 occasions in league competition (tying Purton and Clanfield for the club's second most frequently faced Hellenic League opponent). Indeed, they were opponents during Bassett's inaugural Hellenic League campaign in the 1988-89 season.

Those 38 meetings have yielded 20 wins for Bassett – including a 2-1 final day victory that clinched runners-up spot in Division One West in the club's 2009-10 promotion winning campaign – as well as ten defeats and eight draws.

Meanwhile, Bassett have squared off with Ardley 30 times in league competition. And the Oxfordshire side held a firm advantage over Bassett, winning on sixteen occasions, with Bassett taking the spoils six times, while eight encounters ended all square. The teams also met in the 1994-95 Hellenic League Division One Cup final, which Ardley won.

Both Ardley and Easington – as with those sides whose departure from the Hellenic League was announced when provisional constitutions were first revealed in May – will certainly be missed.

They are sure to be a credit to their new leagues though – and we wish them all the best for the future.


These changes mean that the full constitution for the 2021-22 Hellenic League Premier Division is as follows:

Bishop's Cleeve
Bradford Town
Brimscombe and Thrupp
Calne Town
Chipping Sodbury Town
Corsham Town
Fairford Town
Hereford Lads Club
Lydney Town
Malvern Town
Roman Glass St. George
Royal Wootton Bassett Town
Thornbury Town
Tuffley Rovers
Westbury United

A full breakdown of the sides who will feature can be found in the original article published regarding the constitution for next season's Hellenic League Premier Division, which is available to read here.

Last modified on Friday 25th June 2021 at 22:03.