Sunday side seal the Division One title

Sunday 5th May 2019

A year after being crowned Division Two champions, Royal Wootton Bassett Town's Sunday team secured top spot in Swindon Sunday League Division One courtesy of a 3-0 triumph away against Penhill United.

Penhill were the only side capable of overhauling Bassett at the culmination of an exciting four-team title race. But Bassett, needing only a draw, made sure they came home with all three points to seal the title in style.

Jack Duckers opened the scoring before goals from Ryan Thomas and Andy Guppy made certain of victory for Bassett, who were more than worthy winners.

The league title more than makes up for the disappointment the Sunday team felt following their 5-0 reverse in the Knockout Cup final against FC Walcot last weekend.

And it continues a hugely impressive start to life for the team. Under the guidance of Danny Groom, Dave Terry and Wayne Petrie and starring players who have featured for the club at various senior and youth levels, they were formed last season and stormed to the Division Two title, losing only once.

Against higher quality opposition this year, Bassett may not necessarily have expected to be challenging for the Division One crown. But they have enjoyed another stellar campaign, dropping points in just three games - two draws and a single defeat - and boasting by far the division's most potent attack as they notched 77 goals in their fourteen league games.

The bar has certainly been set high for them again next season!


After the game, the Sunday side handed out their end of season awards.

Centre midfielder Aaron Stevens took home the team's Players' Player of the Year award. He contributed twelve goals, nine towards the team's title winning campaign and three in cup competitions.

Aaron Dainton, who split time between full back and winger received the Manager's Player of the Year prize. He scored three times in the league - all of which came in an away win against Woodlands Edge - and four strikes in cup competitions, while also providing numerous assists.

Goalkeeper Dave Groom was given the team's Clubman of the Year prize.

RWBTFC Sunday team award winners

Players' Player of the Year: Aaron Stevens
Manager's Player of the Year: Aaron Dainton
Clubman of the Year: Dave Groom

Last modified on Monday 6th May 2019 at 15:25.